• Search

Caribbean Guilder

2024 series Caribbean Guilder banknotes & coins

The CBCS is working towards the introduction of the Caribbean Guilder - the new currency for the countries of Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

This new currency will replace the Netherlands Antillean guilder that has been in circulation on the former island of the Netherlands Antilles - Curaçao, Aruba, Bonaire, Sint Maarten, Sint Eustatius, and Saba - since 1952. 

In 1986, when Aruba attained a separate status within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, it introduced the Aruban florin.
In 2010, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba introduced the US dollar as their official currency, when the Netherlands Antilles ceased to exist, and the three islands became special municipalities within the Netherlands.

At that same time, Curaçao and Sint Maarten became autonomous countries within the Kingdom. It was then decided that the two countries would form a monetary union with a common central bank and a common currency, being the Caribbean guilder.

The Caribbean guilder will be legally pegged to the U.S. dollar at an exchange rate of US$1 = 1.79 Caribbean guilder.
The exchange rate between the Netherlands Antillean guilder and the Caribbean guilder will be 1:1. The Netherlands Antillean guilder and the Caribbean guilder are of equal value.

The Caribbean guilder is expected to be introduced on March 31, 2025.

Make sure to follow our social media channels and keep visiting this web page for the latest information.

Regeling Geldstelsel  | FAQ | Veel gestelde vragen  | Preguntanan Frekuente | Press Releases

Last updated: 10.07.2024 17:07